Staff and Governors


Teaching Staff From September 2020



Acting Headteacher: Mrs K. Ryan

BSc (Hons), PGCE 

Deputy Headteacher: Mr R. Gould  

BA (Hons), PGCE

Mrs S. Barber  SENDCo  BA, PGCE Mrs R. Russell               BSc, PGCE
Mrs D. Warran              BA (Hons),PGCE Mrs S. Cooke                  BSc, PGCE
Mrs G. Kirkpatrick       BA (Hons) PGCE Mrs K Walker                 BA (Hons), QTS
Mrs S. Sibson                BA (Hons) PGCE Mrs S. Walker                BA (Hons) PGCE
 Mrs E. Summersgill    B.Ed (Hons), NPQH Miss K. Cooper              BA (Hons) QTS
Click this link to view staff year groups and subject roles: staff roles and responsibilities
Teaching Assistants: Mrs A. McWiggan,   Mrs M. Armstrong Law LLB (Hons), Mrs S. Broadbent, Mrs J. Callaghan, Mrs C. Green, Mrs J. Godsall, Mrs V. Edge, Mrs S. Evans, Mrs K. McClure BA (Hons), Mrs K. Broadbent, Mrs M Hughes, Mrs M Meola
School Business Manager: Mrs P. Chadwick            Administrative Assistant: Mrs K. Murray
Kitchen Staff: Mrs Z. Murray, Mrs N. PinnockMrs S. Anderson, Mrs S. Sutherland
Lunchtime Assistants:  Mrs M Malacrino, Miss J Bancroft, Miss H Hirst, Mrs M Taylor, Mrs I. Madden,  Mrs SF Ng, Mrs D Oldham, Mrs M Meola
Site Manager: Mrs J. Mangan
Cleaning Staff: Mrs SF Ng, Ms N Leonard, Mrs D Oldham
Parish Priest: Father Philip Atkinson



Rev Philip Atkinson

Category: Foundation Governor

Appointing Body: Diocese of Shrewsbury

Term of Office: 2018-2022

Committees: Finance, Premises & Security, Admissions

Fr Philip has been parish priest here at St Peter’s for 4 years, before that he was parish priest at two other parishes in Shrewsbury Diocese, and was a governor at two previous schools. He is also a governor at St Raphael’s, Stalybridge.

Mr Richard Gould (Deputy Headteacher)

Category: Staff Governor

Appointing Body: St Peter’s Governing Body

Term of Office: 2019 – 2020

Committees: All committees

Mr Gould is the Deputy Headteacher at St Peter’s and most recently served two terms as Acting Headteacher. He has been Deputy Headteacher for seven years and was a teacher at St Peter’s for four years prior to that. He has also worked as an IT Executive.

Mr Mark Lowe

Category: Elected Parent Governor

Appointing Body: Governing Body

Term of Office: 2018-2022

Committees: Finance, Premises & Security, Pay Committee, HT Performance Review

Mr Lowe has a finance background, working as a Personal Finance Advisor. He has served on the governing body for 8 years and his three older children have previously attended St Peter’s. His youngest child attends school.

Mr Philip Murphy (Chair)

Category: Foundation Governor

Appointing Body: Diocese of Shrewsbury

Term of Office: 2017-2021

Committees: Finance, Premises & Security, Curriculum & Standards, Pay Committee, HT Performance Review, Admissions

Mr Murphy has served 7 years as Governor, the last 6 years as Chair, having retired from Primary Headship in Stockport in 2011. Prior to that he was as Deputy Head at StRaphael’s for 4 years , having taught here at St Peter’s for 11 years (during which time he served as teacher Governor).

His four children attended St Peter’s.

Mrs Honor Murray

Category: Foundation Governor

Appointing Body: Diocese of Shrewsbury

Term of Office: 2019-2023

Committees: Curriculum & Standards (Chair)

Mrs Murray has been a governor for 5 years, having retired from teaching in 2014, after a career the last 27 years of which was here at St Peter’s, where she taught across the three Key Stages and developed particular expertise in Special Needs and Science. She was also Acting Deputy Head for 18 months. She has in the past served as staff governor at St Peter’s and at Old Chapel School.

Her four children all attended St Peter’s. She is mother-in-law to Mrs K. Murray Administration Assistant.

Mrs Clare Stevenson

Category: Foundation Governor

Appointing Body: Diocese of Shrewsbury

Term of Office: 2019-2023

Committees: Curriculum & Standards, Pay committee

Mrs Stevenson has a background in local authority administration She is a parent, whose two children both attended St. Peter’s. Mrs Stevenson volunteers in school and was appointed as Foundation Governor from September 2015

Mrs Katherine Ryan  (Acting Headteacher)

Category: Headteacher

Appointing Body: Diocese of Shrewsbury

Term of Office: 2019 – 2020

Committees: All Committees

Mrs Ryan was appointed as Acting Headteacher in March 2020. She initially taught at St Peter’s for several years before moving into Special Education for 8 years & then was reappointed here 7 years ago. Mrs Ryan has a wealth of expertise in Early Years & KS1 and has served school in the role of Acting Deputy Headteacher following Mrs Summersgill’s retirement. She has a child in school.

Mrs Ann-Marie Worrall (Vice Chair) & Safeguarding Governor

Category: Foundation Governor

Appointing Body: Diocese of Shrewsbury

Term of Office: 2016-2020

Committees: Finance (Chair), Admissions, Pay Committee, HT Performance Review

Mrs Worrall has served as governor for 9 years and has been Vice Chair for the last 5 years. She works as an Insurance Compliance Officer.She regularly volunteers in school, taking a very active interest in many school activities. She is also a Governor of All Saints Academy. Her children attended St Peter’s.

Mrs Dolores Gordon-Smith

Category: Local Authority Governor

Appointing Body:

Term of office:

Committes: Admissions, Curriculum and Standards

Mrs Gordon-Smith is a published novelist and a qualified teacher. She has for a time worked as a Midday Assistant at St Peter’s and her five children all attended the school. Mrs Gordon-Smith is an active member of St Peter’s parish, and attends mass at St Peter’s Church weekly.



Mr Chris Horrocks, Mrs Sarah Cooke, Mrs Gemma Kirkpatrick, Mrs Marianna Meola


Finance and Personnel  QUORUM 3 Mrs Ann-Marie Worrall – Chair,  Phil Murphy,  Mark Lowe,  Fr Philip Atkinson,  Katherine Ryan (Acting Headteacher), Rick Gould (Deputy Headtaecher)
Curriculum and Standards QUORUM 3 Honor Murray (Chair), Rick Gould (Staff Gov), Dolores Gordon-Smith,  Phil Murphy, Clare Stevenson, Katherine Ryan (Acting Headteacher)
Premises and Security QUORUM 3 Father Philip Atkinson,  Mark Lowe, Phil Murphy, Katherine Ryan (Acting Headteacher)
Admissions QUORUM 3 Father Philip Atkinson, Dolores Gordon-Smith, Phil Murphy, Ann-Marie Worrall, Katherine Ryan (Acting Headteacher)
Complaints Committee(Parental complaints) QUORUM 3 Any eligible Governor

 Pupil Discipline Committee (Pupil Exclusions) 
QUORUM 3 Any eligible Governor  (Members should have attended training on Exclusions)


Appointed Governors for Headteacher Performance Review QUORUM 2 Fr Philip Atkinson, Mark Lowe, Phil Murphy, Ann-Marie Worrall, Plus 1.

External SIP – Nye Goodwin

Pay Committee QUORUM 3 Fr Philip Atkinson, Mark Lowe, Phil Murphy, Clare Stevenson, Ann-Marie Worrall

In attendance: Katherine Ryan (Acting Headteacher)

 Pay Appeals Committee  QUORUM 3 Any eligible Governor not on the original Pay Committee
 Discipline, Grievance and Capability Committee QUORUM 3 Any eligible Governor
 Discipline, Grievance and Capability Appeal Committee  QUORUM 3 Any other eligible governor not on the original Discipline and Grievance Committee
Appointment of Headteacher   All governors
 Appointments Committee (Teaching and Support Staff)   Any eligible Governor form finance & personnel






Spring 2021 Spring 2021 Summer




KATHERINE RYAN   *        
RICHARD GOULD            
PHIL MURPHY   *        
Class Link Governors 20-21   Other Link Roles  
Nursery Dolores Gordon Smith Safeguarding Ann-Marie Worrall
Reception Honor Murray SEND & Pupil Premium Honor Murray
1 Marianna Meola Early Years Clare Stevenson
2 Current Vacancy Health and Safety Current Vacancy
3 Clare Stevenson    
4 Ann-Marie Worrall    
5 Mark Lowe    
6 Current Vacancy